26
Sep
11

Review: S.I.C Kamen Rider Ibuki

So I haven’t reviewed an S.I.C figure since Hibiki, so here’s a ‘new/old’ S.I.C review! I got the Ibuki-Zanki set at a discounted price, that’s what made me buy it. I’ll be reviewing Ibuki first, and leave Zanki for another time.

   

Packaging: Here’s how the box looks like. They split the box colours into blue and green halves to match Ibuki’s and Zanki’s colours respectively. One thing I hate about S.I.C packagings though, is the twist-ties. Man, those are irritating to the core. I spent almost 15 minutes untwisting all the twist-ties for Ibuki and his accessories. Get that… 15 minutes for just Ibuki/Ibuki-related items… T_T

   

   

   

   

Figure Aesthetics: Being a “Chogokin” figure, there’s a good amount of die-cast parts on the figure that’s somewhat lacking in more recent S.I.C figure releases. The collar piece, chest pieces, Henshin Whistle Onteki, Ongekimei Narukaze, Ongekibou Yamase (the things on the belt), Ongekikan Reppu (his gun/trumpet), Disc Animals in their ‘unused’ forms, wrist and ankle braces are in die-cast. Besides the good amount of metal on the figure, there’s also gorgeous details from the crown of the head to the feet of the figure.

As much as I like the details and amount of die-cast parts on the figure, I hate how the chest pieces and shoulder armour fall off real easily. I don’t get why they can’t seem to stick onto the figure better. The belt attachments (namely the Disc Animal holder and Onteki holder) fall off really easily as well.

   

Accessories: Ibuki comes with a good load of accessories. Ibuki comes with 8 extra hands – two open ‘rage’ hands, two holding things hands, two fists with the ‘Wolverine’ claws, an open right hand, and a right pointing hand. (I can’t recall if that was Ibuki’s signature move. Hibiki aired quite some time ago you know…) Ibuki also comes with the Onteki whistle in its open mode, as well as a silver version of the whistle in both closed and open modes. (Again, I can’t recall when the silver ones appeared. Ibuki also comes with an alternate face for when he’s using the Reppu.

Besides the Reppu which is made entirely out of die-cast, Ibuki comes with the Ongekibou Yamase belt attachment and Ongekikou drumsticks that he uses to fight the summer Makamou. There’s also a belt attachment to store the Ongekikou onto the back of Ibuki. Now would probably be a time to point out that making the Reppu trumpet-gun entirely out of die-cast may not be the best idea, as the wrist joints can’t support its weight. Also, the Reppu can switch between gun mode and trumpet/finisher mode. Normally used in gun mode, the Reppu fires light shells at the Makamou. The mouthpiece is at the bottom of the gun, and is attached to the back of the gun while the Narukaze belt attachment is attached to the front of the gun to execute the finisher – Ongeki Sha Shippuu Issen (Gale Flash).

Ibuki also comes with four different types of Disc Animals and 8 different Discs. The 4 Discs/Animals (in ‘used’ and ‘unused’ forms) are the Madder Hawk, Azure Wolf, Black Cobra and Yellow Crab. I guess they included more Black Cobras because the Azure Wolf and Madder Hawk animals were released along with Hibiki as well.

====================

   

   

   

   

 

   

      

   

   

      

   

And that concludes this review… Hopefully I’ll have time for Zanki over this week.

 

 

 


2 Responses to “Review: S.I.C Kamen Rider Ibuki”


  1. 27/09/2011 at 6:43 PM

    Excellent review. This really makes me want to open my set.

    • 2 Matt
      27/09/2011 at 10:52 PM

      Haha, mine was lying around for about a week before I opened it. I tend to open stuff a lot later after I’ve purchased them… Real life and fansubbing kinda sucks the remaining free time I have away from me. ><


Leave a comment


Site Visits

  • 204,969 hits

Latest Review

Yet to Review

- Revoltech EVA-01
- Revoltech Iron Man Mk 6
- Revoltech War Machine
- Revoltech ZET
- GARO KT Zero
- GARO KT Dan
- SIC KT Kamen Rider Decade
- D-Arts Omegamon
- Marvel Select Venom
- Marvel Select Rhino
- Marvel Select Anti-Venom
- Marvel Legends Stealth Iron Man
- Marvel Legends Titanium Man
- Marvel Legends X-Force Deadpool
- Marvel Legends X-Force Wolverine
- Marvel Legends Morales Spidey
- Marvel Classics Iron Spider-Man
- Marvel Classics Venom
- Marvel Classics Carnage
- Marvel Classics Black Spidey
- Marvel Classics Man-Spider
- MAFEX Spider-Man
- SHF Red Hawk
- SHF Red Buster
- SHF TyrannoRanger
- SHF DragonRanger
- SHF Hurricane Red
- SHF RyuuRanger
- SHF Riderman
- SHF Kamen Rider X
- SHF Another Agito
- SHF Kamen Rider Ouja
- SHF Kamen Rider Kaixa
- SHF KR Den-O (Sword Form)
- SHF Kamen Rider Zeronos
- SHF Kamen Rider Wizard
- SRC DaiZyuJin
- TF Prime Darkness Megatron
- TF Go! Optimus Prime
- Ultra Act Ultraman (Renewal)
- Ultra Act Ultraman Jack
- Ultra Act Ultraman Ace
- Ultra Act Ultraman Taro
- Ultra Act Ultra Father
- Ultra Act Ultraman Nexus Junis

Yet to Come…

- SHF Kamen Rider Blade
- SHF Kamen Rider ZX
- SHF KibaRanger
- Ultra Act Ultraman Zoffy

Backlog

September 2011
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930